Interview with Naomi from Odyssey Nerds!!

Naomi

Salutations!!

I (and Hope) have had the privilege to interview Naomi or Kungfunaomi who ran the amazing AIO blog Odyssey Nerds. If you are a new follower of this blog…check out this post! 

And check out the interview we did with Luke, who also wrote on Odyssey Nerds!

 

Me= Bold

Naomi= Red Italic

Hope= Italic

My interview with Naomi:

 

So, first off…what inspired you to start Odyssey Nerds?
Well, I wasn’t inspired. I was ticked off. Basically, no one was reporting on what I wanted to read, and so I decided that if I wanted it done right, I was gonna have to do it myself. Remember that people, if you have a problem, solve it! It’s very character building, I can tell you this right now.
haha, that is great! I love it! How long did you blog on Odyssey Nerds?
Ummmmm, let me look…about a year and two months. I’m too lazy to do the actual math, but I started the blog on November 30th, 2016, and ended it on February 10th, 2018. Fun fact: our goodbye post has the wrong date. It says that we started on January 30th, 2016.
Very nice! Oh, haha 😛 What was your favorite part of blogging about AIO?
Hm… probably getting the scoop that no one knew yet. Poking my nose in places. We always complain that reporters are nosy, and then I understood why they are. It’s easy to chase after that exclusive, and it’s fun, too!
Another one of my favorite parts ever was publishing spoilers or episode titles for an unreleased album, and a bunch of fangirls flipping out in the comments about Buck. I was one of them, it was really fun 😛
Yes, that does sound fun! 🙂 The spoilers and fangirling about AIO is the best! Speaking of Buck…what are your thoughts on Buck and Jules?!?
Gross, man!
Although at this point in time I’m like “well, whatever”, but they get really in-your-face with it. I had a serious problem with Buck adding Jules to his family tree. Like… really!? That’s just weird.
I mean, we all crush on people, right? But they’re not really exploring healthy crushing habits… no, I would not call adding your crush to your family tree a good thing to do…
haha…gotcha! I get your point. Is there anyone in Odyssey that you do think should be together?
I SUPPORT RONNIE. It’s Rodney and Connie, they’re meant to be with each other!
No, not really, haha.
Actually, I don’t actively ship people when it comes to Odyssey. I’m also a Mario fan and I ship people in that universe, but in Odyssey, Kathy Buchanan pretty much ships everybody that there is available to ship, so I’ve had my fill.
There is something I always thought would be cool, though, and I’ll probably write a fanfic of it. NOT as a ship, mind you, as more of a headcanon thing. I thought it’d be cool if both Dr. Blackgaard and Jack Allen got stuck in a lodge together during a snowstorm, and they both had to intellectually duke it out. Kinda like they did down in the tunnel at the end of Darkness Before Dawn. It’d be cool because Dr. Blackgaard is cunning, and Jack is super noble, and Jack would be worried that Dr. Blackgaard is going to kill him, and Dr. Blackgaard is trying to deal with Jack and still be evil. It’d be cool.
Haha! That would be interesting…
Gotcha 😉 oh yea!! That does sound interesting!! If you ever write that you’d be welcome to post in on Welcome to Odyssey! 🙂   What is ONE of your favorite AIO episodes?
One!? ONE!? HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO PICK ONE
Okay, I’ll make an effort, though… hm…
One of my favorite episodes ever is It’s A Wrap. I just remember listening to Darkness Before Dawn for the first time and being like, emotionally scarred, and then I listened to It’s A Wrap very, very soon after. It was just so funny after hearing such a dark saga! Definitely, put a smile on my face.
haha, yea 😛 Sorry, that is like one of the hardest questions ever!
Very nice!! Do you have a favorite album or time period in Odyssey?
Yes. Odyssey’s 1991-1997-ish era is my favorite. They put out some real gems.
Very nice!
Well, I think I will need to end my part of the interview. I had a lot of fun!! Thank you so much for doing this, it was a pleasure! Anything else you want to say to the readers?
Thanks for interviewing me, Gracie, it was a lot of fun!
Actually, there is something I want to say to the readers: if you’re still reading, then thanks! 🙂
My pleasure! Glad you enjoyed it!! 🙂
haha, of course, they are still reading 😛
😉 Maybe I am the only one who glosses over everything when I read.
Haha! Nope, that is me too *high fives*

le intrusion of Hope:

I’m guilty of that sometimes too hehe

 

 

 

Hope’s interview with Naomi:

 

1. What’s your favorite album, and why?

Darkness Before Dawn, because I just have memories of the epicness. Listening to it in the dead of summer with thunderstorms outside. It was AWESOME. I was the nerd kid who transcripted the entire conversation between Blackgaard and Jack in the tunnel. But who hasn’t done that, amirite?
Haha, true. Jack was IS awesome!!!
2. Favorite kid character and why?
*Laughs*
For some reason, I always hated everyone but Jimmy when I was younger. I still like Jimmy, but I also like Alex, Cal, Mandy, and I recently have found a love for Sarah Pratchett’s pessimism. Oh, and I absolutely love Rodney.
Hahahaaaa yesss.
3. Favorite female character, and why?
Doris Rathbone. She makes my day.
EXACTLY
4. Favorite male character, and why?
Eugene. I really like Will Ryan as an actor, and Eugene as a character just works so well. The ignorant know-it-all. Just yes.
Yep, Eugene is GREAT!!!
5. Plot you wish could have gone another way?
I mentioned that if I’m not happy with something, I’ll probably just write a fanfiction of it. This is true with what I’m about to tell you:
Novacom. Mitch should have died. Should. Have. Died. And Eugene should have showed up smack-dab in the middle of the series because that would have been awesome.
And I know that they couldn’t bring in Eugene because Will Ryan wasn’t available, but dang, I wanted him to show up so bad.
The reason that I say Mitch should have died is that he and Connie didn’t end up getting married, and I honestly hate the saga where they’re on the fence about it. So if Mitch had died, we could have avoided that saga altogether, had Connie’s grief be an actual thing, and have had a heroic ending for Mr. Mitchell.
Bourland: Robert Mitchell… is dead.
Bourland: No really.
Bourland: He’s dead’r than a doornail.
EXACTLY!!!!! YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAS!!!!! DOWN WITH MITCH!!!!!!!
6. Favorite canon couple?
As much as I love Eugene, I have to pick Jack and JoAnne as my favorite canon couple. They were the best ever. Especially since they never did that weird “engagement kiss” thing that Katrina and Eugene did. Where they got engaged so they kissed for every scene? Eww.
SAME!!!! I knowwww that was ick. Except for the fact that Eugene was always like “no, not in front of the DOOR, Katrina!” which was PRICELESS 😂😂😂😂
7. Favorite thing about blogging for ON?
HAHAHA
HAHA
HA
Does that answer your question? >:)
Okay if it doesn’t, let me explain: Being weird. That was my favorite part. If I decided that I was in the mood for memes, I did memes. In the mood for banging on the keyboard? I banged on the keyboard.
Actually one of my favorite reviews that I’ve ever done was the one where I absolutely ripped apart Imagination Station book #19. Just ripped it apart. It was so much fun. I hope none of the authors ever reads that post because I pretty much took a knuckle sandwich, slathered it in sarcasm and memes, and slammed it right into the book, bwahaha! Here’s the link for it: https://odysseynerds.wordpress.com/2017/02/04/review-of-the-imagination-station-book-19/
Thank you for interviewing me!
YOU ARE ABSOLUTELY HILARIOUS NAOMI 😀 😀 😀 😀 
and yes, yES YES KILL MITCH 😀 😀 😀 
AND JACK AND JOANNE WERE LITERALLY THE BEST 😥 😥 😥

HAHA, you are definitely crazy, Naomi.

And no problem!!!!!it was fun!!!!

(Also, I think I went back and read all of ON’s posts one time when I was bored; I took A TON of screenshots hahaha)

 


 

 

Thank you so much for doing this, Naomi. I had a blast!! If you ever feel the urge to rant about Odyssey, I would love for you to do a guest post on here! 😀 

Thanks again! ❤

signoffimg_5630-22

8 comments

  1. NOOO DON’T KILL MITCH!!
    *calms down* Well, maybe they should’ve left it at that- but Mitch is my 3rd favorite character, so I’m glad they spared his life.
    Great interview! Now, send me your favorite AIO quotes and I’ll design them for you! -Jo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.